Mix 106.3
Canberra's Greatest Hits

Now Playing:

Listen on


Image Credit – Transport Canberra

Stage one of Canberra’s light rail is one step closer, with the announcement of the 13 stops names between Civic and Gungahlin.

They’ve been named based on major streets and intersections they’ll service.

“From today, Canberrans can place themselves on the stage one map and identify their closest stop which will take them to and from where they need to be,” Transport Minister Meegan Fitzharris said.

“These names will become a part of thousands of Canberrans daily lives and it is exciting to have reached this point in the project, which is on track to be delivered in 2018.”

There’ll be 13 stops on the City to Gungahlin route with a terminus at each end of the corridor.

The stop names are Gungahlin Place (terminus), Manning Clark North, Mapleton Avenue, Nullarbor Avenue, Well Station Drive, EPIC and Racecourse, Phillip Avenue, Swinden Street, Dickson Interchange, Macarthur Avenue, Ipima Street, Elouera Street and Alinga Street (terminus).


Image Credit – Transport Canberra

The stop locations were chosen based on factors like projected patronage and potential to enhance the local area, with construction on the first stop to get underway over the next year.

Will you be using light rail once it’s up and running? Have your say at our Facebook page!

Share this: