The ACT will effectively reopen its border to Sydney, with the exception of one council area.

From 3pm this afternoon, Friday 22 January, returning Canberrans who’ve been in the Cumberland Shire Council area in the past 14-days will be the only people required to self-declare with ACT Health and quarantine for two weeks.

Anyone who’s been in the previously declared hotspots of Blacktown City, Burwood, Canada Bay City, Canterbury-Bankstown, Fairfield City, Inner West, Liverpool City, Paramatta City and Strathfield Municipality will be free to leave quarantine.

It’s understood the change to the ACT’s public health orders will see 449 people released from their home isolation requirements.

ACT Chief Health Officer, Dr Kerryn Coleman said it’s likely the remining Cumberland council will be removed as a hotspot in the coming week.

“Cumberland remains as an LGA that still has an outstanding exposure location, I think the last date in which someone was there was the 15th of January.”

“We’re going to wait for that 14-day incubation period, that takes us to towards the end of next week.”


Non-residents of the ACT who’ve been in the Cumberland council area are still legally required to seek an exemption before entering the Territory.

A national mandate on masks at airports will also come into effect from 11:59pm tonight.

The change means any travelers over the age of 12 who are transiting through domestic terminals will now be required to wear a face mask inside an airport and on all flights throughout Australia.