The ACT Chief Health Officer has reduced the number of local government areas included in the Territory’s closed border to Greater Sydney.

As of 3pm Monday 12 January, the list of affected council areas will no longer include the Wollongong, Central Coast and Blue Mountains areas, as well as some parts of Sydney.

Returning Canberrans who’ve visited the following council areas in the past 14-days are now the ONLY returning residents who are required to self-declare and quarantine once arriving in the Territory.

Northern Beaches, Blacktown City, Burwood, Canada Bay City, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield City, Inner West, Liverpool City, Paramatta City and Strathfield Municipality.

Residents from the above council areas are still required to seek a legal exemption to enter the Territory.

Chief Health Officer, Dr Kerryn Coleman said that while the removal of some areas from the Public Health Direction is a positive step forward, it’s not a sign to start lowering our guard.

“Although the situation in NSW has stabilised, there remain some areas that continue to see cases where NSW has been unable to detect a source or link to a known infection,” Dr Coleman said.


“While NSW continues to get on top of these clusters, these areas still pose a high enough risk to the ACT to retain the existing travel and quarantine requirements for anyone coming from these areas. We also urge people from these areas to not travel to the ACT at this time.”

“We will continue to monitor the situation closely and work with our NSW counterparts.”

Those currently isolating in the ACT after visiting one the previously listed council areas, no longer included in the updated list, will be free to leave quarantine.