The ACT will introduce ‘stay-at-home’ orders for seven council areas in Sydney at the centre of the city’s latest covid cluster.

From 4pm Wednesday, Canberrans who’ve been in the below LGA’s will need to quarantine at home for at least the next week.

  • City of Sydney
  • Waverley
  • Randwick
  • Canada Bay
  • Inner West
  • Bayside
  • Woollahra

Non-ACT residents who are in these LGAs will not be able to enter the ACT without an approved exemption.

Stay-at-home requirements

If you are an ACT resident and are leaving the affected LGAs on or after 4.00pm today and entering the ACT you need to:

  • Complete an online declaration form within 24 hours prior to arriving in the ACT or within 24 hours from the commencement of the new stay at home requirements.
  • Travel directly to the residence where you will spend the stay-at-home period. You should only leave the residence for an approved essential purpose.
  • Everyone aged 12 years and over must wear a mask if leaving their premises for any of these essential purposes.  Mask wearing is not required if undertaking vigorous exercise outdoors.

In addition, anyone who has been in the broader Greater Sydney, Central Coast, Nepean Blue Mountains, Wollongong and Shellharbour regions of NSW (including the LGAs above) in the past 14 days, will need to complete an online declaration form on the COVID-19 website which will be available online from 6pm.

For locals residents, the advice remains the same, to avoid any unnecessary travel to any other parts of the Greater Sydney area.

The new restrictions are set to remain in place until at least 11:59pm Wednesday 30 June.

Did you know you can stay up-to-date with all the latest news on your smart speaker right now?
Just say “Hey Google, Play Mix Canberra News.”