The ACT will essentially close its border to the entire Sydney Metropolitan area on Friday afternoon amid a worsening covid cluster in the New South Wales Capital.

From 4pm 25 June, anyone entering the territory from the city will need to enter isolating at home until at least next Friday 2 July.

The below Sydney council areas are impacted by the new rules.

Bayside Blacktown Burwood
Camden Campbelltown Canada Bay
Canterbury-Bankstown City of Sydney Cumberland
Fairfield Georges River Hornsby
Hunters Hill Inner West Ku-ring-gai
Lane Cove Liverpool Mosman
North Sydney Northern Beaches Parramatta
Penrith Randwick Ryde
Strathfield Sutherland Shire The Hills
Waverley Willoughby Woollahra


The new restrictions only apply to the Sydney Metropolitan area but does not impact travellers from the Central Coast, Blue Mountains, Wollongong and Shellharbour areas at this stage.

However current advice remains to avoid the above areas as the outbreak continues to grow.


For non-ACT residents who are in Greater Sydney and surrounds the message is do not travel to the ACT.

Sydney metro residents will not be able to enter the Territory without an approved exemption.

Exemptions will only be granted for extraordinary circumstances, and even if an exemption is approved, you will still be required to follow the stay-at-home order in the ACT.

More information is available on the ACT COVID-19 website.

Did you know you can stay up-to-date with all the latest news on your smart speaker right now?
Just say “Hey Google, Play Mix Canberra News.”