A total of 76 Canberra Public Schools have been identified as having either traces of lead paint or asbestos.

The Education Minister, Yvette Berry made the list publicly available on Wednesday, after coming under fire from the Liberals demanding to know which schools were affected.

Ms Berry on Monday said testing of the hazardous materials during the summer school holidays all returned results below safe levels.

“None of the testing has identified any of the lead dust in any of the teaching or learning spaces.”

The Education Directorate said its committed to maintaining the Territory’s school buildings of varying ages.

“In addition to the $99 million school upgrade program we carry out regular repairs and maintenance.”

“The ACT Government has committed an additional $15 million over the next four years to accelerate the removal of hazardous materials from public schools.”


The directorate said it also continues to carry out regular testing to ensure remains safe to occupy for students and staff.

Here’s the full list of schools containing either lead dust or asbestos in the ACT:

  • Ainslie Primary School
  • Alfred Deakin High
  • Aranda Primary School
  • Arawang Primary
  • Belconnen High School
  • Black Mountain School
  • Bonython Primary
  • Calwell High
  • Calwell Primary
  • Campbell High
  • Campbell Primary School
  • Canberra College Woden
  • Canberra High School
  • Caroline Chisholm School
  • Chapman Primary
  • Charles Conder Primary
  • Charnwood-Dunlop Primary School
  • Co-operative School – O’Connor
  • Cranleigh Special School
  • Curtin Primary
  • Dickson College
  • Duffy Primary
  • Erindale College
  • Evatt Primary
  • Fadden Primary
  • Farrer Primary School
  • Florey Primary School
  • Forrest Primary School
  • Fraser Primary School
  • Garran Primary School
  • Gilmore Primary School
  • Giralang Primary School
  • Gold Creek School
  • Gowrie Primary School
  • Hawker College
  • Hawker Primary School
  • Hughes Primary School
  • Kaleen Primary School
  • Lake Ginninderra College
  • Lake Tuggeranong College
  • Lanyon High School
  • Latham Primary
  • Lyneham High
  • Lyneham Primary School
  • Lyons Early Childhood School
  • Macgregor Primary
  • Macquarie Primary School
  • Majura Primary School
  • Malkara School
  • Maribyrnong Primary School
  • Mawson Primary School
  • Melba Copland Secondary School (MCSS)
  • Melrose High
  • Miles Franklin Primary
  • Monash Primary School
  • Mount Rogers Primary School
  • Namadgi School
  • Narrabundah College
  • Narrabundah Early Childhood School
  • Ngunnawal Primary
  • North Ainslie Primary
  • Red Hill Primary School
  • Richardson Primary School
  • Southern Cross ECS
  • Stromlo High School
  • Taylor Primary School
  • Telopea Park School
  • The Woden School
  • Torrens Primary School
  • Turner School
  • UC High School Kaleen
  • Wanniassa Hills Primary
  • Wanniassa School
  • Weetangera Primary School
  • Yarralumla Primary School

The full and updated list is available from the Education Directorate here.