UPDATED: Thursday 12 August, 2021

Large parts of surrounding New South Wales are now in lockdown as authorities attempt to get ahead of the Delta COVID variant spreading throughout the state.

Authorities in Melbourne are also doing the same as the Victorian capital remains in lockdown.

As a result, the ACT Government has implemented a number of travel restrictions in a bid to prevent the virus finding its way into the Territory.

Interstate travel is now strongly discouraged and Canberrans are being warned the situation can change quickly.

Here is the current state of play.

NSW: Travellers from large parts of New South Wales now need to quarantine in the ACT as a result of the growing delta outbreak in Sydney.

The orders apply to Greater Sydney including the Central Coast, Blue Mountains and Wollongong areas.

The below regional council areas are also included:

  • Armidale Regional Council
  • Cessnock City Council
  • Coffs Harbour City Council
  • Dubbo Regional Council
  • Dungog Shire Council
  • Lake Macquarie City Council
  • Maitland City Council
  • Mid-Western Regional Council (includes Mudgee)
  • Muswellbrook Shire Council
  • Newcastle City Council
  • Port Stephens Council
  • Shoalhaven City Council
  • Singleton Council
  • Wingecarribee Shire Council (the Southern Highlands area)
  • Tamworth
  • Byron Bay Shire
  • City of Lismore
  • Richmond Valley
  • Bogan Shire Council
  • Bourke Shire Council
  • Brewarrina Shire Council
  • Coonamble Shire Council
  • Gilgandra Shire Council
  • Narromine Shire Council
  • Walgett Shire Council
  • Warren Shire Council

Elsewhere across the state remains fine to travel to and from for now but with a number of exposure sites popping up in other parts of NSW, some as close a Goulburn, it’s recommended Canberrans rethink the need to travel interstate at this time.

Further details on the restrictions in place across NSW can be found on the ACT COVID-19 website here.

VIC: Lockdown orders have now been lifted in Regional Victoria but remain in place for Melbourne, as a result, anyone entering the ACT from Melbourne is subject to stay-at-home orders.

Prior to its lockdown, the state closed its border to all of NSW and the ACT with Canberrans no longer welcome in the state without an exemption.

QLD: The ACT has now lifted stay-at-home orders for all parts of Queensland following the ending of lockdown in Cairns on Wednesday, travellers from the region will still need to complete a declaration from on arrival into the Territory.

Canberrans are still welcome into the Sunshine State for now but authorities from Queensland are closely monitoring the covid situation and that could quickly change, the state is currently closed closed to ALL of NSW including places just across the border such as Queanbeyan and Yass.

SA: South Australians is free of lockdown but has closed its border to the ACT.

WA: Canberrans aren’t banned from heading over west but will be subject to 14 days quarantine upon arrival.

NT: Travel to and from the Top End is unrestricted at the moment.

TAS: Canberrans can freely travel to and from Tasmania at this time.

NZ: Australians are no longer able to travel to New Zealand without quarantining, NZ made the decision to temporarily suspending the trans-tasman bubble until at least September.

Did you know you can stay up-to-date with all the latest news on your smart speaker right now?
Just say “Hey Google, Play Mix Canberra News” or listen below: