Tuesday 23 November 2021

With the ACT now out of lockdown and COVID vaccination rates across the country on the rise, states have begun outlining plans to drop their borders and allow

Here’s where Canberrans can and can’t go right now and in the months ahead.

New South Wales

Fully vaccinated Canberrans are currently free to travel without restrictions to and from NSW.

The ACT still considered some areas as high risk for unvaccinated travellers.



Travel between Victoria and the ACT is unrestricted for fully vaccinated people, a permit is still required to enter Victoria while the ACT still considers some areas as high risk.

South Australia

South Australia borders have reopened to fully vaccinated travellers from the ACT, NSW and Vic.

Declaration forms and testing requirements remain in place.


Queensland remains closed to Canberrans but has outlined a plan to allow fully vaccinated travellers into the state without the need to quarantine from 17 December.



Tassie remains closed to the ACT for now but has announced a firm date for its border reopening, fully vaccinated travellers will be welcomed back into the state from 15 December but will be required to complete a COVID test within 72 hours of arrival.

Northern Territory

Travel from the ACT into the Top End remains off limits for now.

However, the NT has announced fully vaccinated travellers will be able to undertake a home quarantine from 23 November.

Western Australia


WA is closed to everyone in ACT, NSW and Vic, unless you’re an approved traveller, the state has no plans to open its borders to COVID affected jurisdictions until ‘sometime’ in 2022.

New Zealand

Travel to New Zealand remains off limits for Aussies for now.

Listen to the latest news below: