Large parts of New South Wales are now in lockdown as the outbreak of the Delta COVID variant shows no signs of easing.

Eight additional council areas in the state’s Central West were added to the list late on Wednesday.

Stay-at-home orders are now in place for residents in the following regions:

Greater Sydney

  • Sydney
  • Wollongong
  • Blue Mountains
  • Central Coast

Newcastle and Hunter

  • Newcastle
  • Cessnock
  • Dungog
  • Lake Macquarie
  • Maitland
  • Muswellbrook
  • Port Stephens
  • Singleton

Northern Rivers

  • Ballina
  • Byron
  • City of Lismore
  • Richmond Valley

Central NSW

  • Tamworth
  • Armidale
  • Dubbo
  • Bogan
  • Bourke
  • Brewarrina
  • Coonamble
  • Gilgandra
  • Narromine
  • Walgett
  • Warren

More details on the lockdowns and the rules currently in place can be found on the NSW Health website here.

As a result, the ACT has implemented quarantine orders for a number of council areas across the state.


Local health authorities are still urging Canberrans to reconsider the need to travel anywhere interstate at this time.

Did you know you can stay up-to-date with all the latest news on your smart speaker right now?
Just say “Hey Google, Play Mix Canberra News” or listen below: