Returning Canberrans and travellers who’ve been in the Greater Brisbane area on or after Saturday 2 January 2021 will now be required to self-declare and quarantine in the ACT.

The Greater Brisbane area includes the Brisbane City, Redland City, Ipswich City, Logan City and Moreton Bay Regional council areas.

ACT Chief Health Officer, Dr Kerryn Coleman, has declared the Greater Brisbane area as a COVID-19 hotspot as the city prepares to enter a 3-day lockdown.

It comes after a cleaner in the Queensland Capital contracted the more contagious UK strain of COVID-19.

Canberrans currently in Brisbane are encouraged to stay there and wait out the 3-day lockdown unless it is absolutely essential for you to return.

Locals who do choose to return will have to fill out an online declaration and self-quarantine for 14-day.

Chief Minister, Andrew Barr, said anyone planning on travelling to Brisbane should now reconsider the need to travel to the city.


“Any visits to these areas puts you and the wider community at risk.” Mr Barr said.

Local residents are still permitted to travel directly through the Greater Brisbane area, without stopping, if travelling to and from another location.

Quarantine requirements are also in place across New South Wales for anyone who’s been in Greater Brisbane on or after 2 January.