Canberrans travelling to Victoria are now subject to new restrictions after the state increased its alert level for people entering from the ACT.

From the early hours of Sunday 27 June, the ACT and regional NSW (excluding border communities) are now considered an ‘Orange’ zone under Victoria’s traffic light entry system.

That means anyone travelling from an orange zone must get a COVID-19 test within 72 hours of arriving into the state and remain in isolation until returning a negative result.

The changes affect people from the ACT, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Yass Valley, Goulburn-Mukwaree and Upper Lachlan Shire residents as well as the rest of regional NSW, excluding those that are considered border communities.

The entire Greater Sydney area, including Central Coast, Blue Mountains and Wollongong are ‘red’ zones meaning travel is not allowed.

People who live in the Snowy-Monaro council area, bordering the southern end of the ACT, are still considered a ‘Green Zone’ for free entry into Victoria.

Travellers wishing to enter Victoria from a Green or Orange zone must still apply for a permit before their arrival.


More information can be found on the Victorian Coronavirus website.

Did you know you can stay up-to-date with all the latest news on your smart speaker right now?
Just say “Hey Google, Play Mix Canberra News.”