Residents of towns around the ACT and locals who’ve visited them will now be allowed to apply for a permit to enter Victoria under an easing of its hard border to New South Wales.

Under the changed directions, all regional areas of New South Wales will move to an ‘orange zone’ status from 5:59pm Monday 11 January.

The change means those traveling to Victoria from regional areas of the state will still need to apply for an entry permit, undergo a coronavirus test upon arrival and self-isolate until the results are returned.

The ACT remains a ‘green zone’ under the system, allowing free travel from the Territory into the state.

Travellers who arrive at the border and attempt to enter without a permit risk a $5,000 fine for the breach to the coronavirus restrictions.

The Greater Sydney area including Wollongong remain a ‘red zone’ under Victoria guidelines.